A Stiff Drink………and Chocolate

Navigating Daily Life, One Step at a Time…

F&*K Cancer!

There was an interesting thing that happened to me today. I found out that our new HR person is dealing with a family member in the late stages of cancer. We talked a lot about it and I am glad that they entrusted me enough to confide in me that information.

I then came home to be informed that my uncle, who has been battling cancer himself, has been told today that all they can do now is make him as comfortable as possible. That’s it, so sorry, we are going to give up on you.

I’ve lot too many people to this disease, and all young, vibrant and happy people who didnt deserve it. No one deserves it. (Okay, well Hitler deserved it) But here I am watching my father deal with the knowledge that his youngest brother will likely pass before he does and that another member of my family will likely become another statistic.

All I can say is that I hope he, and everyone else dealing with this insidious disease, fights. Fight like hell. Fight like your life, and those of your family, depends on it because it does and there is SOOO much to live for. Attitude is that ultimate life saver and I can only hope that in spite of the news my uncle was provided today, he soldiers through it. I pray for that to whatever Powers That Be will listen.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

