A Stiff Drink………and Chocolate

Navigating Daily Life, One Step at a Time…

Changing Lifestyles – Breakfast

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, right? So what do you do when you’re first meal of the day ends up inevitably being most of your daily allowance of calories? Changing your lifestyle isn’t easy! It’s far more convenient to live in the manner with which you’ve become accustomed and that’s exactly what I’m fighting with right now.

Take this McDonald’s ‘addiction’ I have. Its not so much that I prefer to eat at one of America’s most well known and horribly-unhealthy for you fast food chains! But the sheer fact of the matter is, it’s the most convenient option for me! Or, at least, I keep telling myself it is when I get up in the morning. I have four of them that I can count immediately that are directly between my home and my work. FOUR! It’s no wonder that the restaurant chain owns the largest share in it’s market!  And, well, yeah, I do have a soft spot for their Coke and Chocolate Chip Cookies.

 

Yummmy! Too bad three of these bad boys = 480 calories!

 

I’m also the sort that isn’t hungry upon immediately waking up. I’d rather wait an hour or so before I ingest some wonderful sustenance. But I also have a tendency to wake up basically an hour before I need to leave the house to head into work. I dont have quite the same issue, for instance, on the weekends when I dont need to go anywhere first thing. I can take my time, wake up, and then eat when I’m ready. During the week, running around, trying to get into work, I would prefer to wait and generally dont find myself hungry until about an hour after waking. Issue there? By then I’m in the car and hey look…it’s one of those four McDonalds!

So then, the question begs to differ, how best to change my lifestyle to avoid the Calorie Pit? I can try to eat at home, prior to being hungry but the issue there in is that if I’m not hungry, I simply won’t eat! (Which makes sense, right? Why bother eating if A.) you’re not feeling it and B.) you’re not going to ENJOY what you’re putting in your mouth?!) I can eat when I get to work, but that entails making sure I have food there to eat – which also requires me anticipating what I’m going to WANT to eat for breakfast on any given morning.

 

I need this to determine lunch at work!

 

The first lifestyle change I think I need to make, is to stop going to fast food places first thing in the morning and eating 1000 calories right off the bat, and figuring out a different way to change how my mind thinks about breakfast.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

